Is The Easter Bunny Vegetarian-Friendly?
Can Vegetarians Eat Easter Bunnies and Easter Eggs?
As Easter approaches you can find lots of chocolate bunnies and Easter eggs on the shelves in the grocery store. I am not going to address this from a moral standpoint just from an ingredient standpoint. If you have a vegetarian or vegan at home you may want to take a close look at the ingredients just to make sure these treats don’t contain any animal-derived products.
Similar to the post I wrote on Halloween where I outlined some of the ingredients to watch out for, I’ll reiterate them here so you know what they are.
Ingredients that come from animals:
- Dairy: Found mostly in chocolate products also called milk-fat and can be called whey or casein. Note white chocolate is not chocolate and may contain dairy products.
- Gelatin: A common ingredient in gummy candies, gelatin is made from animal tendons, ligaments and bones.
- Shellac: or confectioner’s glaze: created using the excretions of certain insects.
- Carmine: found in bright red products, carmine is a pigment made by crushing the shell of a female cochineal insect.
I haven’t been checking the ingredients on the bunnies and chocolates I see in the stores but I did do an online search and found a few lists of vegetarian/vegan-friendly treats to help you celebrate Easter without eating anything that contains animal ingredients. However do read the labels just to make sure your vegetarian or vegan child doesn’t eat something they don’t really want to.
- Spoon University has outlined a list of vegan-friendly treats here.
- Go Dairy Free has a list of non-dairy chocolate treats here.
Or, if you are interested in making some of your own treats, check out this post on One Green Planet.
I also have a great chocolate treat that gets rave reviews whenever I serve it, check out this recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls.
Happy Easter! Enjoy the festivities and then join me for a 5-Day Sugar Detox starting April 22, 2019. You can sign up here and grab a FREE 5-Day Meal Plan.